running amok: UAAP WTF Moment # 1

I watched the UAAP game last week. Ateneo bagged their third (?) straight wins, beating the falcons in bloody pulp. As usual, the crowd hooted for their respective teams. I thought it was just another wild and out game until we’ve reached the remaining 2 quarters of the game. The falcons were already trailing by some10 or 11 points, the crowd was getting rowdier than ever, especially a number of fanatics in the front row seats. They were mouthing insults to the ateneo fans. I have trouble trying to read their lips but I could careless. I mean, whatever man. Do as you please, it wouldn’t change the scoreboard. But then out of a sudden, this gayish falcon fan stood up, picked the mop (yes! As in the one that the janitor uses to scrub the floor) and pointed it to the ateneo crowd, mouthing cuss, perhaps. Actually, I really couldn’t tell what he was trying to say because we were seated in the upper box while he’s in the front row of the lower box. The behavior, in my own perception is a pathetic cry of mockery. Wow! These people are really taking these things seriously. Is this still school spirit? To make the scenario worse, an alumnus from the eagles’ crowd walked over to the falcon side. To my disgust, he seemed like he was utterly provoked by such behavior. He started pointing his finger at the gay fan, picked the mop and faced the falcon crowd. He started blabbing and blabbing. I couldn’t understand what he was saying but it was evident that he was steaming mad—like a bull of his cage. Has he gone boinkers? What was he thinking? Was he out of his ‘calming pills’? Did he drink way too much lipovitan? Was he one of those you-mess-with-my-team-I’ll-kill-you type of fan? Why would you loose your temper and composure because of such hooting? I just don’t get the point. I can be a die-hard fan. I would cuss and scream my lungs out if the referee’s calls are questionable. I get pissed off at trash talking players. But to unleash apocalypse for the crowd’s unruly and uncalled for behavior? Heck no. Luckily, my medulla is still sitting on its rightful place. Lest we’re still using smoke signals to communicate, we should leave out the primitive behavior to the primates, shall we? Call this my UAAP WTF Moment #1.

p.s.

masarap nga bang maging ATENISTA?

“Win or Loose it’s the school we choose.”

Allow me to roll my eyes.

Leave a Reply

